

JUDICIAL NOMINATING COMMISSION STATE OF GEORGIA

600 Peachtree Street, NE Suite 3000 Atlanta, Georgia 30308-2216 Tel: 404-885-2696 Fax: 404-962-6919

> Nathan Deal Governor

June 15, 2018

TO: ALL MEMBERS OF THE BAR AND ALL CITIZENS OF THE STATE OF GEORGIA

This is to provide notice to members of the Bar and the public that the Judicial Nominating Commission for the State of Georgia, created by an Executive Order of Governor Nathan Deal, is now engaged in the process of receiving names of persons to fill a vacancy on the Georgia Supreme Court created by the retirement of the Honorable Chief Justice P. Harris Hines and for any additional vacancies that may occur this year.

You are invited to submit nominations for these vacancies. Members of the Bar may submit their own name or the names of others. The public is also invited to submit nominations. Such names should be sent to the Commission by June 29, 2018. (By letter addressed to Judicial Nominating Commission, c/o Dana McGuire, 600 Peachtree St., N.E., Suite 3000, Atlanta, GA 30308-2216, by fax to 404-962-6919, or by email c/o dana.mcguire@troutmansanders.com.

To each person nominated, the Commission will send an application package to be returned for receipt by the Commission on or before July 13, 2018. The Commission will meet to interview applicants sometime after July 23, 2018. Applicants will be notified of the time of their interview. All interviews will be held at the State Bar of Georgia, 104 Marietta St., Atlanta, GA 30303.

The Commission will select and recommend to the Governor from among those persons found to be "qualified" a short list of persons for these positions. The rules governing the JNC and the selection process are posted at <u>www.jnc.georgia.gov</u>.

For additional information regarding the Commission and the application process, you may visit us at <u>www.jnc.georgia.gov</u> or you can contact Pete Robinson @ pete.robinson@troutmansanders.com.

FOR THE COMMISSION

Pete Robinson Chairman

Pete Robinson, Esq. Chairman

Hon. Chris Carr

Peter W. Carter, Esq.

Dennis T. Cathey, Esq.

Douglas Chalmers, Jr. Esq.

Scott D. Delius, Esq.

Arthur B. "Skin" Edge IV, Esq.

Hon. Charles P. Efstration, III

Robert S. Highsmith, Jr. Esq.

Darren Jones, Esq.

Meredith Lackey, Esq.

William T. Mitchell, Esq.

Patrick T. O'Connor, Esq.

Jonathan Pannell, Esq.

Lee W. O. Shafer, Esq.

Robert Strang, III, Esq.

W. Ryan Teague, Esq.

Patty S. Veazey, Esq.

David R. Werner, Esq.

Stephanie Woodard, Esq.

W. Thomas Worthy, Esq.