JNC recommends candidates for Northeastern, Oconee, and Pataula Judicial Circuits

November 17, 2017

The Judicial Nominating Commission has submitted recommendations to fill vacancies within the Superior Courts of the Northeastern, Oconee, and Pataula Judicial Circuits.  The vacancy within the Northeastern Judicial Circuit was created by the passage of House Bill 138 during the 2017 session of the Georgia General Assembly.  The vacancies within the Oconee and Pataula Judicial Circuits were created by the resignations of the Honorable H. Frederick Mullis, Jr. and the Honorable Thomas H. Baxley, respectively.  Governor Deal will fill the vacancies from among the lists.  The Governor’s Office will contact candidates to schedule interviews.

The following names were submitted to Governor Deal:

Northeastern Judicial Circuit

  • Larry A. Baldwin, II – Judge, State Court of Hall County
  • Clint G. Bearden – Judge, Dawson County Magistrate Court; attorney, Law Office of David E. Ralston
  • Lindsay H. Burton – Judge, Juvenile Court of the Northeastern Judicial Circuit

Oconee Judicial Circuit

  • John P. Harrington – partner, Smith & Harrington
  • Howard C. Kaufold, Jr. – partner, Kaufold & Everett

Pataula Judicial Circuit

  • Henry L. Balkom IV – Judge, Probate and Magistrate Court of Quitman County; attorney, Henry L. Balkom IV LLC
  • T. Craig Earnest – District Attorney, Pataula Judicial Circuit